Indianapolis 500 Tickets – Indy 500 Entry List Announced in Late April

If the early entry list already released for the 2010 Indianapolis 500 is correct, this year’s “Greatest Spectacle in Racing” is all but guaranteed to be one of the most-anticipated events of the 2010 racing season. The Indy 500 is the biggest and most-watched race of the entire IndyCar season from year to year, and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway recently announced the entries for this year’s May 30 race, sparking commotion on the racing scene.

Amongst the pack of IRL drivers who will start their engines and compete for an Indy 500 title this year will be four women drivers, making history as the most female drivers to ever compete in the Indianapolis race. Aside from IndyCar regular Danica Patrick, the other female drivers to field cars in this year’s Indy 500 (according to the entry list) are the less-popular Milka Duno, Sarah Fisher and Simona De Silvestro. The 40 drivers on the entry list for the Memorial Day weekend extravaganza are the most to file for the race in one year since 2002, matching that number for the second consecutive year.

As if the IRL’s leading ladies weren’t enough to sell <a href=””>Indianapolis 500 tickets</a> to this year’s big race, the 2010 Indy 500 will also see tougher competition than ever, as the entry list for next month’s event includes four former Indy 500 champions. Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti and Dan Wheldon have all dominated the track at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway over the last decade (Castroneves in 2001, 2002 and 2009; Dixon in 2008; Franchitti in 2007 and Wheldon in 2005), and now they’ll all have to face even more powerhouses like Will Power, Marco Andretti, Tony Kanaan, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Ryan Briscoe, to name a few.

Several drivers have only recently announced they’d drive cars in this year’s Indy 500, and among those names is the newest arrival to reveal a spot in the field at this year’s big Indy race: Tomas Scheckter. Scheckter, a 29-year-old South African, spent last year with Dale Coyne/Dreyer & Reinbold in a few races, and now he’ll re-join Dreyer & Reinbold to field a car in the 2010 Indianapolis 500. Scheckter’s best finish in the Indy 500 was in 2003, when he notched a fourth-place finish, and he’s looking to improve upon last year’s 12th place finish as next month’s Indy race comes into sight.

Other drivers to recently announce entries in the forthcoming Indy 500 – aside from the 24 current full-time drivers in the IRL – include a handful of seasoned veterans like John Andretti, Davey Hamilton, Paul Tracy, Ed Carpenter and A.J. Foyt IV. Sebastian Saavedra, Bruno Junqueira, Jay Howard and Townsend Bell have also anted up for the big gig.

The 2010 Indianapolis 500 will take place on May 30, 2010 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, drawing thousands of racing fans to the track for what’s been dubbed the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing.” Last year’s triumphant win by Helio Castroneves will be hard-pressed for an even more spectacular follow-up, and all the action will commence at the end of next month, when racing season comes alive in Speedway, Ind.!

  • Добавить ВКонтакте заметку об этой странице
  • Мой Мир
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LiveJournal
  • MySpace
  • FriendFeed
  • В закладки Google
  • Google Buzz
  • Яндекс.Закладки
  • LinkedIn
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • Digg
  • БобрДобр
  • MisterWong.RU
  • МоёМесто.ru
  • Сто закладок

Комментарии закрыты.